An artist working with electronics and electronic media, based in Brooklyn, NY

Update from the TextielLab in Tilburg, NL

IMG_0049_TextielLab_Documentation

IMG_0052 2_TextielLab_Documentation

IMG_0054 2_TextielLab_Documentation

IMG_0074_TextielLab_Documentation

IMG_0079_TextielLab_Documentation

IMG_0081_TextielLab_Documentation

IMG_0082_TextielLab_Documentation

IMG_0087_TextielLab_Documentation

IMG_0090_TextielLab_Documentation

IMG_0095_TextielLab_Documentation

Day 4 @ TextielLab Textielmusuem Tilburg, NL

The palette is fixed and I’ve settled on my final design constraints and source material.  For the next two working days in the lab, I’ll be weaving fragments from core memory dumps.  Raw binary data from my system RAM have been rendered into a 6-bit color-space with a total of 64 colors.  The data itself is a collection of fragments of files, images, sounds, temporary data and programs, a sketch of my activities assembled according to the obscure logic of my operating system.

Complete documentation of the process and resources will come in the following weeks.

After having my PC Laptop, camera, and audio recorder stolen on a train to Amsterdam, I am in debt to my dear friend Jeroen Holthuis for helping me write a program in Processing which performs variable bits per channel rendering of raw binary data in a similar fashion to Paul Kerchen’s LoomPreview. He has also been kind enough to loan me his camera and host me for some of my time in the Netherlands. Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

